Devotional · Scriptures

At the Feet of Jesus

“But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to him, and said, Lord, dost thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me.
And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things:
But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:40-42

We read this in Church, this past week. What struck me was that Martha, was trying to serve the Lord. She was, or at least that is what she told herself. Martha was so busy “serving the Lord” that she didn’t have time to serve the Lord. There  have been times in my life, where I have been doing stuff “for the Lord”, that I put off taking time for Him. To serve is good, but it is needful to take time, to sit and listen at the feet of Jesus!

Leave a comment